Coca8ne

screen-shot-2017-02-07-at-12-46-45-am

I do computer science research in security and privacy, so I’m often thinking about the techniques people use to try to maintain privacy. Was this misspelling of “cocaine” a mistake? Possibly. Or maybe not. If I (or an employer) wanted to search his post history for mentions of illegal activity or illicit substances, this misspelling might prevent me from discovering this post. Of course, I could manually look through all of his previous posts, but that’s a lot of work.

Note: I’ve hidden this person’s username, and I’m not going to say where this came from (though I’m sure you could guess). Please don’t try to find this post. I’d like to continue sharing observations like this, but I don’t want to put the people I observe at increased risk.

One thought on “Coca8ne

  1. Pingback: WWW Conference Recap – Technical Sessions | Camille Cobb

Leave a Reply

